Thursday, September 22, 2011


Yowza! Kogar the Swinging Ape has begun the arduous process of remastering his "Lux & Ivy's Favorites" mixes. There's eleven of them in all, and while most people who dig these mixes probably don't care a whole lot about remastering, I just listened to the first spit shine and there is a marked improvement. Here's a link to his post with the first batch, along with the song list so you know what you're getting into. (His download includes artwork and a pre-made CD insert with track listing.) Way down at the bottom is a link to all eleven mixes (pre-remastering) on Beware of the Blog, along with Kogar's explanation of what his intent was with this whole mess.


Lux & Ivy's Favorites (Remastered) at Kogar's Jungle Juice
1. Sheriff and the Revels — Shombolar
2. Sid King and the Five Strings — Let ‘Er Roll
3. Ersel Hickey — Bluebirds Over The Mountain
4. Ersel Hickey — Hangin’ Around
5. Ronnie Dawson — Action Packed
6. Ronnie Self — Date Bait
7. Vern Pullens — Bop Crazy Baby
8. Donald Woods & Velairs — Death Of An Angel
9. Gene Maltais — Crazy Baby
10. Billy Ward & The Dominoes — The Bells
11. Bob Mcfadden — The Mummy
12. Forbidden Five — RFD Rangoon
13. Forbidden Five — Enchanted Farm
14. Medallions — Behind The Door
15. Nervous Norvus — Transfusion
16. The Clovers — Crawlin
17. The Pengiuns — Earth Angel
18. The Blenders — Don’t Fuck Around With Love
19. Sparkle Moore — Skull and Crossbones
20. Versatones — Bila
21. Versatones — Tight Skirt Tight Sweater
22. The Tornnados — Telstar
23. The Treniers — Poontang
24. The Clovers — Rotten Cocksuckers’ Ball
25. Collins Kids — Whistle Bait
26. The Chips — Rubber Biscuit
27. Jan and Arnie — Jennie Lee

Here's more!
Lux & Ivy's Favorites, Volumes 1-11 (pre-remastering) at Beware of the Blog
Long interview with Lux & Ivy, mp3 at Beware of the Blog

No comments: